Depth of Field: Deep and Shallow

This week was such a blast for me! I took my camera nearly everywhere with me and snapped a bunch of pictures. This past Friday, May 5, I ended up walking home from work (a decent walk, mind you) to enjoy the sunlight and take some great photos, which is where most of these pictures come from. What I mainly learned is that sometimes there are moments you can’t capture again, so always have a camera at the ready. For the entire week, it was so liberating to see something beautiful and think: “I have a camera! I can keep this moment!” Afterwards, I spent a bit of time on Photoshop, brightening and sharpening the images to enhance color and clarity (very minimal edits overall, except for the railroad crossing in which I created part of the sky).

Through this project, I definitely discovered that I have a greater love for shallow depth of field than deep depth of field. I enjoy discovering the small things around me and making them last longer through a photo. I love the effect that blurring can have to concentrate an audience’s focus on one small entity of the picture, making little things a lot larger in meaning and message.

Deep Depth of Field Photos

Spori Lamp: 05-05-17; 6:29 p.m.; Spori-BYUI Campus; FL: 34 mm; f/16; 1/800; Canon EOS Rebel T6.

Homestead River: 05-05-17; 7:16 p.m.; Rexburg Homestead; FL: 18 mm; f/7.1; 1/1000; Canon EOS Rebel T6.

Railroad Crossing: 05-05-17; 7:07 p.m.; Rexburg-Main street’s railroad crossing; FL: 37 mm; f/11; 1/1000; Canon EOS Rebel T6.

Homestead fountain: 05-05-17; 7:18 p.m.; Rexburg Homestead; FL: 55 mm; f/6.3; 1/1000; Canon EOS Rebel T6.

Shallow Depth of Field Photos

White Flowers: 05-03-17; 10:43 a.m.; BYUI campus; FL: 55 mm; f/5.6; 1/400; Canon EOS Rebel T6.

Squirrel: 05-05-17; 6:41 p.m.; Rexburg-2nd street; FL: 55 mm; f/5.6; 1/800; Canon EOS Rebel T6.

Bee in Flowers: 05-05-17; 7:19 p.m.; Rexburg; FL: 55 mm; f/6.3; 1/1000; Canon EOS Rebel T6.

Bright Flowers: 05-02-17; 10:46 a.m.; BYUI Campus; FL: 55 mm; f/7.1; 1/200; Canon EOS Rebel T6.

Ladybug in Flower: 05-07-17; 12:51 p.m.; Rexburg-my apartment; FL: 55 mm; f/9; 1/1000; Canon EOS Rebel T6.

8 thoughts on “Depth of Field: Deep and Shallow

Add yours

  1. I love that you’ve submitted so many photos to see the variety of of what you can do with your camera! Well done on the deep depth, I like the fountain and the red wall photo most. Creative approach!

    Like

  2. I really enjoyed your pictures!! I especially love the railroad crossing one. I think the colors especially of the sky really pop, and the whole picture is really just so clear and crisp!

    Like

  3. These are really great Megan! You have great angles! I really struggle with that. I really like the sky shots. They’re fantastic. You had great deep field shots too. The fountain looks amazing. I think you have a great mix of composition and colors. Great job! I’d love to hear any feedback you might have for me. You obviously know what you are doing.

    https://endintrophotography.wordpress.com/2017/05/12/shallow-vs-deep-depth-of-field/

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

