Montage Project

DESCRIPTION

Create an inspirational montage that is a blending of 2 or more images combined with 2 or less fonts.

PROCESS

  1. I knew that inspiration of any sort was the required focus for this piece, so I chose a piece of poetry from Emily Dickinson that really resonated with me.
  2. I searched free pictures sites for “birds” and “soul.” After a few failed attempts at “soul,” I thought maybe I could find a good image of a person. I liked this photo of the girl best. I’m a big fan of the contrast between colors, and black and white. So I chose to find a good black and white background picture. Then I found a flying bird image and a girl image with matching color schemes. I chose to go with cool colors to set a more mysterious tone of possibility, as the poem implies.
  3. I placed the black and white bird image as my background.
  4. I lassoed the girl image and the colorful bird image onto the background.
  5. I placed both images on the left side as to avoid center alignment.
  6. I began blending the girl and bird into the background. I liked the “mystical haze” that blending at a low percentage opacity did. It gave the piece a touch of magic, so I kept it in.
  7. I formed the quote. To allow it to stand out from the black and white background and not just be mere white font, I pulled the exact colors from the bird and girl and implemented them into the font. I chose 3 fonts I was a fan of.

CRITIQUE PROCESS

After receiving critique from my peers and professor, I spread the “mystical haze” out into bursts around  the bird and girl. I did this by lassoing the colors from the image, copying and pasting them onto the background, and then blending them in. I also simplified the typography from 3 fonts to only 2, and fixed the alignment of it.

MESSAGE

Hope is like a bird waiting to burst into flight. Just give it a reason to soar.

AUDIENCE

I feel like English majors, especially with a passion for poetry or an emphasis in literary studies, would greatly appreciate this message. Otherwise, I feel like anyone who needs to believe in something or someone again could use this message.

TOP THING LEARNED

I learned that blending can have a powerful effect. Originally, I was going to try and achieve a clean-cut image. But I feel that blending did more for this piece than cropping the images perfectly would have done. I believe there’s some magic behind the message, and so there needed to be some magic and splendor to the image.

COLOR SCHEME AND NAMES

Cool Colors: Purple, Teal, and Green against a stark Black and White background.

TITLE FONT NAME AND CATEGORY

Fredericka the Great, Decorative

COPY FONT NAME AND CATEGORY

PT Serif Regular, Serif

THUMBNAILS OF ORIGINAL, UNEDITED IMAGES

animal-1854225_1920.jpg

hz1wqbhcxag-pelly-benassi.jpg

f_ngd35rosq-christopher-campbell.jpg

SOURCE OF IMAGES

Splash and Pixaby

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

